Soccer Almanac

American soccer writing, history & data.

Inaugural AFLSL 1909-10 season

Dec. 28, 2021 |  Categories:  AFLSL   St. Louis  

When the St. Louis Soccer League ended after a single season, Henry Kulage organized a new Association Football League of St. Louis to play doubleheaders at Kulage's Park. Buck Chapman was elected president and Thomas Cahill as secretary. The four teams admitted as members were Holy Name, Knights of Father Matthew, Keen Kutters (previously in the Saturday Afternoon League), and Duwell Athletic Clu...

AFLSL 1907-08 season

Dec. 17, 2021 |  Categories:  AFLSL   St. Louis  

The Association Football Soccer League of St. Louis returned for the 1907-08 season but had a new competitor for the top league in the city in the newly-organized St. Louis Soccer Football League. St. Leo's was the only team to return from the previous season. The champions were joined by Kinloch (formed from most of the Parish League champions St. Matthew's), Shamrocks (mostly the Nugent players ...

AFLSL 1906-07 season

Dec. 14, 2021 |  Categories:  AFLSL   St. Louis  

Prior to the 1906-07 season, the Amateur Association Football League was renamed as the Association Football League of St. Louis. During the prior season, unlike most St. Louis leagues, the AAFL played out its schedule and fulfilled its obligations. The only noticeable change other than the name was the league eliminated the A.A.U. from its affairs due to the difficulty in finding players that fit...

Inaugural PAFL 1903-04 season

Dec. 13, 2021 |  Categories:  AFLSL   St. Louis  

Brother Elzear, director of athletics at Christian Brothers College, headed up the organization of the Parish Association Football League for the 1903-04 season. Clubs from eight St. Louis parishes joined the strictly amateur competition. Games were played on the C.B.C. campus starting in early November. By mid-January only four teams remained in the league: St. Rose's; St. Ann's; Holy Name; a...

Inaugural AFLSL 1904-05 season

Dec. 3, 2021 |  Categories:  AFLSL   St. Louis  

A new Association Football League of St. Louis was organized for the 1904-05 due to the unpleasant ending of the former professional league at the end of the 1903-04 season. The four-teams league would play doubleheaders every Sunday at Kulage's Park. The league's opening matches were on November 6, 1904 and the clubs taking part were Ben Miller, Diels, Woman's Magazine, and Thistles. The latte...

©2024 by Daniel Creel. All rights reserved.