Soccer Almanac

American soccer writing, history & data.

Inaugural SLSL 1908-09 season

Dec. 22, 2021 |  Categories:  SLSL   St. Louis  

With the demise of the Association Football League of St. Louis, Thomas Cahill left the St. Louis Soccer Football League and organized the St. Louis Soccer League for the 1908-09 season. Cahill was elected to his traditional position of secretary and Winton E. Barker was named president. The league would play Sunday doubleheaders at Kulage's Park. Teams included the New Tariffs (virtually the SLSFL's St. Matthew's team from the prior season), the Shamrocks (previously in the Suburban League), St. Mark's (from the C.B.C. Amateur League), and St. Malachy's (which returned to soccer after an absence of eight years). The great baseball pitcher, Rube Waddell, played goalkeeper for the Shamrocks for a few matches in January.

Managed by Pat Kelly, the New Tariffs edged the Shamrocks by a point to win the league title in a somewhat shortened season. The club scheduled a three-game series for the city championship against St. Leo's, champions of the SLSFL. St. Leo's beat the New Tariffs 6-2 in the first match on March 21 at Kulage Park. The final two matches of the city championship were dropped after that result.

©2024 by Daniel Creel. All rights reserved.