Soccer Almanac

American soccer writing, history & data.

WSSFL 1932-33 season

Dec. 14, 2022 |  Categories:  Wisconsin   WSSFL  

The Wisconsin Soccer Football League Division A comprised 10 teams for the 1932-33 season. Eight teams returned from the prior season plus F.C. Bayern Lions from Sheboygan and Milwaukee Hungarian A.C. Kenosha Sport Club dropped down to Division B. That division was made up of eight teams. Deutscher Sport Club of Racine returned from the Racine Municipal League and a new club, Madison Badger S.C., joined.

The Kenosha Sport Club began their Division B schedule losing to the Deutscher Sport Verein second team 14-1 on September 4, 1932. They lost their next few games then forfeited their next couple of matches after the team failed to appear. The WSSFL eventually suspended Kenosha. Madison S.C. forfeited its final three matches in May of 1933 and was also suspended by the WSSFL prior to their final match for failure to appear in two straight matches.

Milwaukee's Deutscher Sport Club took all WSSFL honors for the second straight. The first team defended its Division A title by winning all 16 league games on its schedule. In 23 games over two WSSFL seasons the Deutschers had won 22 and drew one. The Deutscher Sport Club second team also won their second Division B title in a row taking the season title by one point over Deutscher Sport Club of Racine.

The Deutscher Sport Club of Milwaukee made a season sweep of the Wisconsin state titles by winning the Wisconsin State Challenge Cup. The Deutschers beat F.C. Bayern of Milwaukee 5-1 in the final on May 7, 1933.

Most of the Milwaukee WSSFL clubs took part in the National Challenge Cup qualifying rounds. Deutscher Sport Club of Milwaukee beat F.C. Bayern of Milwaukee in the second qualifying round to become the Wisconsin representative in the first round proper. The Deutschers were beaten in the first round by the Jugo-Slavs of Chicago.

©2022 by Daniel Creel. All rights reserved.