Soccer Almanac

American soccer writing, history & data.

WSSFL 1928-29 season

Dec. 8, 2022 |  Categories:  Wisconsin   WSSFL  

With Deutscher Sport Verein moving up from the B division to replace the Simmons Blues, the Wisconsin State Soccer Football League Class A competition stayed at six teams for the 1928-29 season. The Class B competition lost the Kohler club to the new Eastern Wisconsin Soccer Football League. It increased to six teams with the additions of the Deutscher Sport Club of Milwaukee, the Deutscher Sport Club of Racine and the Vienna A.C. second team.

Viking A.C. won the 1928-29 WSSFL title. On Sunday, May 12, 1929 the Vikings also won the Wisconsin State Challenge Cup and completed the double by beating the F.C. Wacker second team 2-1 before 500 at Vienna field in Milwaukee. As it was the Vikings' third straight state cup win the team took permanent possession of the Whyte trophy. The Deutscher Sport Club of Milwaukee won the Class B title.

Most clubs in the Class A competition took part in the National Challenge Cup qualifying rounds. F.C. Wacker beat Vienna A.C. in the third qualifying round to become the Wisconsin district champions. But the Wackers lost in the fourth qualifying round on November 18, 1928 to the Thistles of Chicago.

©2024 by Daniel Creel. All rights reserved.